Writer's Block

Publié le par The Girl who walks in the Light of Truth

Writer's Block

 

 

I'm always saying that writing about writing is like writing about your intestines. Large and small. Yes, it's that interesting (ha ha), and surely as intimate.

 

But here it is though; what to do when you have writer's block?

 

It's the nightmare of every writer and composer: the blank page (or screen, in my case), the mind goes completely black and all I seem to be able to think about is a chocolate milk-shake.

 

Some people say, "don't force it". Well, that's true, but at the same time, you can fall into a  vicious circle; the less you write, the less you want to write. The more you procastinate, the more it's easier to just drop everything and walk away.

 

There is something that I have learned, over many years of being a journalist. Writing is like running; you have to force yourself to do it everyday. Not much, but some.

 

This is, of course, barring if you write as a job. I've written aritcles about things that I couldn't have given a damn about. You call upon your technique, think about all your old professors who told you, taught you, FORCED you to write in J-school and you just do it.

 

So, let's say, you do write everyday. Then what?

 

Where's your inspiration?

 

Then again, what is inspiration?

 

For some it's happiness; for others, it's love. For others still, it's sadness. Certainly, in the case of a musician and composer, it's very often sadness. Believe it or not, it's true. Why do so many love songs talk about break-up, heart-break, etc.? Well, because sometimes, it's easier to exorcise bad feelings than it is to honestly talk about what's great in your life.

 

Think of this too: most people DON'T want to hear about what's great in your life. Really. Either everyone's got it or they don't, and they'll hate you for it.

 

Whichever way, talking about how big your boyfriend's biceps are, doesn't necessarily cut it for everyone.

 

But what do you do when what you write is terrible?

 

It happens, no really, it happens more than you think; in fact, usually, you tend to write or compose about, oh I don't know, 50 crap things, and out of those, maybe 3 or 4 are workable. And those 3 or 4 need so much work, you wouldn't even believe it.

 

Yes, so I'm telling you, composition, is tougher than it looks. And more sweat-inducing, brain-wracking and nerve-fraying than you could ever imagine.

 

At least for me. I'm not saying that I never compose something easily; of course I have. Then again, I've worked with people who somehow seem to compose so easily and compose really good stuff. One of my close collaborators was a guy I called "The Hit Machine". He could compose songs easily, and most of them were hits. And to cap it off, he could compose in 4 different languages.

 

Sheesh. Trust me, I felt pretty bad at times.

 

But so this is to tell you, that sometimes, I don't always write here, and I really should, I know. I'll try to get on here as often as possible, but forgive me, if at times, my posts are few and far between.

 

But I can tell you this: I appreciate all of you who read me, and who support me, and I give you all out a great thank you.

 

And the next I crave a chocolate milk shake, I'll go running instead.

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article